Rajya Sabha elections will not be held in West Bengal, 6 TMC candidates and one BJP candidate won unopposed -aabtak24


Rajya Sabha Election: Before the Rajya Sabha elections to be held on July 24, all 7 candidates of West Bengal have won unopposed. Out of these 7 candidates, 6 TMC candidates and one BJP candidate were elected unopposed. Because no opposition candidate had filed nomination against him. Saturday (July 15) was the last day for withdrawal of nominations for the Rajya Sabha elections. 

Coochbehar’s Anant Maharaj has won as BJP candidate, while Derek, Sukhendu Shekhar and Dola again retained their seats in the Upper House from TMC. Apart from this, other candidates Saket Gokhel, Sameerul Islam, Prakash Chik Badaik became Rajya Sabha MPs from TMC. Derek O’Brien, Dola Sen, Sukhendu Shekhar Ray, Sameerul Islam, Prakash Chik Badaik and Saket Gokhale were the TMC candidates for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha. 

BJP withdraws the name of the dummy candidate
All the seven candidates who submitted nominations will be elected unopposed and become Rajya Sabha members directly, because now these people will not have any competition with anyone. On the other hand, BJP’s dummy candidate Rathindra Bose withdrew his nomination for the Rajya Sabha elections. After scrutiny of the nominations submitted for the Rajya Sabha elections, the nominations of all the seven candidates were found to be valid, after which the BJP on Saturday decided to withdraw the nomination of its dummy candidate. 

This is the first time that a Rajya Sabha member of BJP will be elected from the Bengal Legislative Assembly. BJP candidate Anant Maharaj had submitted his nomination on Thursday (July 13). Other BJP leaders were also present along with Anant Maharaj on this occasion. The TMC on Monday (July 10) announced its candidates for the Rajya Sabha seat of West Bengal. TMC tweeted on this occasion and wrote that it is a great pleasure to announce the candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. Along with this, TMC also wished all the candidates. 

Also read:-

Opposition Meeting: Congress invites two more parties for special 26 meeting of opposition for Mission 2024, Bengaluru 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top