Major jolt to Congress in Tripura; bunch of leaders quit party – aabtak24


Dharmanagar, Jul 12, 2023, TRIPURATIMES Desk

Dharmanagar Jul 12: Holding on to the major trend of decline in the party’s existence in Tripura, a bunch of leaders tendered resignation from the party’s primary membership in North Tripura district on Wednesday.

A group of Congress leaders including Pradesh congress vice-president Rupamoy Bhattacharjee, block congress president Pankaj Dey, minority cell member Sirajuddin Ahmed along with others not only resigned from their party posts but also resigned from the party’s primary membership after losing confidence in the party and its leadership in the state.

Addressing the press, the leaders said, “We have lost our faith in the party, the organization and its procedures have turned to a farce under Sudip Roy Barman”.

“After the elections, when the Congress workers were being attacked in various places, no Congress leader was found on the side of the workers, even when the Congress workers of North district came forward for help, none of the Agartala leaders were seen on the spot. Therefore, the Congress leaders who have served in the Indian National Congress for 30-35 years have resigned from the Congress party forever”, they added.

Tapash Roy, one of the Congress leaders who had been associated with the party for long years said, “No one listens to the grassroot workers who are actually working for the party. The senior leadership in Delhi also do not show any curiosity in state affairs. With great pain, we are quitting the party today”.

However, with the change in party president in recent days where Brijit Sinha was removed from the post all of a sudden and Asish Kumar Saha who joined the Congress prior 2023 assembly elections quitting BJP, a row of resignations from the party could be seen in Tripura.

Also, many Congress leaders and workers raised questions against the role of Sudip Roy Barman and his activities.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top