BJP releases list of Rajya Sabha candidates for Gujarat and West Bengal -aabtak24


Rajya Sabha Election 2023: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released the list of candidates for the elections to the Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat and West Bengal. There are a total of three names in the BJP’s list of candidates for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha, in which two are from Gujarat and one from West Bengal. After the consent of the Central Committee, the National General Secretary of the party Arun Singh released the list of candidates.

Babubhai Jesangbhai Desai and Kesaridev Singh Zala have been made candidates for the Rajya Sabha seat from Gujarat. BJP has fielded Anant Maharaj as its candidate in West Bengal.

Elections to be held on 10 Rajya Sabha seats

Voting for Rajya Sabha is to be held on 10 seats in three states on July 24, which includes 3 seats in Gujarat. Union Minister S Jaishankar has filed nomination from Gujarat itself on 10th July. Whereas, the Congress has laid down its arms. The Grand Old Party has said that it does not have sufficient number of representatives in the state, so it will not field a candidate this time. At the same time, elections are to be held for one Rajya Sabha seat in Goa, as Vinay D Tendulkar’s term ends on July 28. 

6 seats are vacant in West Bengal

Six Rajya Sabha seats have become vacant in West Bengal. The state’s ruling Trinamool Congress has fielded candidates for 6 seats. TMC has fielded Derek O’Brien, Dola Sen, Sukhendu Shekhar Ray, Sameerul Islam, Prakash Chik Baraik and Saket Gokhale as candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

Read also


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top