Struggle on Sengol, PM Modi said amid boycott of opposition – New Parliament House Har…| big things -aabtak24


New Parliament Building Inauguration: The political battle is on for the inauguration of the new Parliament building. On one hand, the opposition parties say that President Draupadi Murmu should inaugurate the Parliament, failing which is an attack on democracy. On the other hand, the government has cleared its stand and said that politics should not be done on this historic occasion. On Friday (May 26), the controversy over the Sengol installed near the speaker’s chair in the Lok Sabha increased. Big things of the day-

1. The video of the new parliament surfaced for the first time on Friday (May 26) amid the tussle between the opposition and the central government. In this, the Ashoka Pillar is visible from the room for the MPs to sit. Apart from this, Satyamev Jayate is written on the gate. 

2. While sharing the video of the new Parliament House, PM Modi said that it will make every Indian proud. PM Modi said that the video gives a glimpse of this iconic building. I request you to share this video with your voice-over which expresses your views. I will even retweet some of them. Don’t forget to use #MyParliamentMyPride.

3. Meanwhile, the Congress claimed about Sengol that there is no documentary evidence to prove that Lord Mountbatten, C Rajagopalachari and Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru used the ‘scepter’ (Sengol) has been described as a symbol of the transfer of power of the British rule to India. Party General Secretary Jairam Ramesh also claimed that PM Modi and his sycophants are using this ceremonial scepter for political purposes in Tamil Nadu. 

4. In fact, Union Home Minister Amit Shah announced on Wednesday (May 24) that the historic ‘ Sengol’ will be installed in the new Parliament House. The Congress rejected his claim. After the statement of the Congress, Amit Shah himself replied to it. He tweeted on Friday, “Why does the Congress party hate Indian traditions and culture so much? A sacred scepter was given to Pandit (Jawaharlal) Nehru by a holy Shaivite monastery in Tamil Nadu as a symbol of India’s independence, but it was sent to a museum after being told it was like a walking stick. p>

5. Amit Shah further said, “Now the Congress has committed another shameful insult. The holy Shaivite Thiruvaduthurai Aadinam himself had told about the importance of the scepter at the time of India’s independence.’’ Shah said, ‘‘Congress is now calling Adinam’s history fake. Congress needs to reflect on its behaviour.’’ 

6. Ambalavan Desika Paramacharya Swami of Thiruvaduthurai Adinam Math located in Tamil Nadu also gave a statement regarding Sengol. He said that Sengol was handed over to Lord Mountbatten and then it was presented to Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru in 1947 as a symbol of the transfer of power from the British. He is suffering a lot due to the wrong claims being made by some people in this regard. He said that the photographs and news published in newspapers and magazines in 1947 are proof of this. 

7. Amid political rhetoric, the Supreme Court Draupadi Murmu refused to hear a PIL requesting a direction to get it done. The court said that it is not our job to look into this matter. The apex court also reprimanded the petitioner.

8. 19 including Congress, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s TMC, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party, Chief Minister MK Stalin’s DMK and Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party from the opening ceremony of Parliament Opposition parties have announced a mass boycott. Apart from this, Telangana Chief Minister KCR’s Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) and MP Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM also said that they will not attend the inauguration program. 

9. There are many opposition parties who have agreed to participate in the inauguration ceremony of the Parliament. These include JDS, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) of former Union Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) of Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Shiromani Akali Dal, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) of former Chief Minister Mayawati, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and Lok Janshakti Party (Paswan).

10. The boycott by the opposition parties has been condemned by a group of 270 eminent citizens, including former bureaucrats, ambassadors and other dignitaries. The group includes former National Investigation Agency (NIA) director YC Modi, former IAS officers RD Kapoor, Gopal Krishna and Samirendra Chatterjee, besides Lingaya University Vice-Chancellor Anil Roy Dubey. It is a proud occasion for all Indians, but the baseless arguments, immature attitude, cynical and hollow claims by the opposition parties and above all undemocratic, the statement said.

Read this also- Sengol Dispute: Why does Congress hate Indian traditions so much? Amit Shah’s reply to Jairam Ramesh on Sengol controversy


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top